Home> Products> Nisin From Streptococcus Lactis ( NISIN )> Is Nisin From Streptococcus Lactis ( NISIN ) Gluten Free

Is Nisin From Streptococcus Lactis ( NISIN ) Gluten Free

03/03/2016 admin

Nisin is a polycyclic antibacterial peptide produced by the bacterium Lactococcus lactis used as a food preservative. Nisin is a ribosomally synthesized peptide that has broad-spectrum antibacterial activity, including activity against many bacteria that are food-spoilage pathogens. Nisin is produced as a fermentation product of a food-grade bacterium, and the safety and efficacy of nisin as a food preservative have resulted in its widespread use throughout the world, including theU.S.

 

What Is Gluten

Gluten is a protein composite found in wheat and related grains, including barley, rye, and wheat. Gluten gives elasticity to dough, helping it rise and keep its shape and often gives the final product a chewy texture. Gluten can be found in many types of foods, even ones that would not be expected.

 

Is Nisin Gluten Free?

Yes, Nisin is gluten free. It is a polycyclic antibacterial peptide which is different from protein. Therefore, Nisin is gluten free.

 

How Is Nisin Used in Gluten Free Food?

Nisin is used in processed cheese, meats, beverages, etc. during production to extend shelf life by suppressing Gram-positive spoilage and pathogenic bacteria. In foods, it is common to use nisin at levels ranging from ~1-25ppm, depending on the food type and regulatory approval. As a food additive, nisin has an E number of E234.

 

Why Choose Gluten Free Food?

For those who are suffering by celiac disease, gluten can cause big trouble, not even in small amounts. 50 milligrams of the protein is enough to cause trouble. In people with celiac disease, gluten in the bloodstream triggers an immune response that damages the lining of the small intestine. This will interfere with the absorption of nutrients from food, cause problems like osteoporosis, infertility, nerve damage, and seizures.

Even those who are not with celiac disease may have a similar trouble which is called gluten sensitivity or non-celiac gluten sensitivity. It can generate symptoms similar to celiac disease but without the intestinal damage.

 

Which Foods Are Naturally Gluten Free?

There are some naturally gluten-free food groups, including fruits, vegetables, meat and poultry, fish and seafood, dairy, beans, legumes, and nuts. Besides, there are some kinds of grains and other starch-containing foods are naturally gluten-free: rice, cassava, corn (maize), soy, potato, tapioca, beans, sorghum, quinoa, millet, buckwheat groats (also known as kasha), arrowroot, amaranth, teff, flax, chia, yucca, gluten-free oats, and nut flours.

 

As a top online B2B platform for food additives, you can find premium suppliers of Nisin and other gluten free food ingredients on OKFoodAdd. Our editors are working hard to offer professional advices on food ingredients, please kindly share this article if it is useful to you.