Home> Products> Sodium Benzoate> Is Sodium benzoate Gluten Free

Is Sodium benzoate Gluten Free

03/04/2016 admin

Sodium benzoate, also known as E211, is a widely used food preservative produced by mixing benzoic acid with sodium hydroxide. It is a common preservative in processed foods and soft drinks. Benzoic acid can be found naturally at low levels in cranberries, prunes, greengage plums, cinnamon, ripe cloves, and apples. As a food additive, sodium benzoate is bacteriostatic and fungistatic under acidic conditions. It is most widely used in acidic foods such as salad dressings (vinegar), carbonated drinks (carbonic acid), jams and fruit juices (citric acid), pickles (vinegar), and condiments. It is also used as a preservative in medicines and cosmetics. Concentration as a preservative is limited by the FDA in theU.S.to 0.1% by weight.

 

What Is Gluten

Gluten is a protein composite found in wheat and related grains, including barley, rye, and wheat. Gluten gives elasticity to dough, helping it rise and keep its shape and often gives the final product a chewy texture. Gluten can be found in many types of foods, even ones that would not be expected.

 

Is Sodium Benzoate Gluten Free?

Yes, Sodium Benzoate is gluten free. It is the sodium salt of benzoic acid which is different from protein. Therefore, Sodium Benzoate is gluten free.

 

How Is Sodium Benzoate Used in Gluten Free Food?

Sodium benzoate is a common preservative in processed foods and soft drinks. Benzoic acid can be found naturally at low levels in cranberries, prunes, greengage plums, cinnamon, ripe cloves, and apples. As a food additive, sodium benzoate is bacteriostatic and fungistatic under acidic conditions. It is most widely used in acidic foods such as salad dressings (vinegar), carbonated drinks (carbonic acid), jams and fruit juices (citric acid), pickles (vinegar), and condiments.

 

Why Choose Gluten Free Food?

For those who are suffering by celiac disease, gluten can cause big trouble, not even in small amounts. 50 milligrams of the protein is enough to cause trouble. In people with celiac disease, gluten in the bloodstream triggers an immune response that damages the lining of the small intestine. This will interfere with the absorption of nutrients from food, cause problems like osteoporosis, infertility, nerve damage, and seizures.

Even those who are not with celiac disease may have a similar trouble which is called gluten sensitivity or non-celiac gluten sensitivity. It can generate symptoms similar to celiac disease but without the intestinal damage.

 

Which Foods Are Naturally Gluten Free?

There are some naturally gluten-free food groups, including fruits, vegetables, meat and poultry, fish and seafood, dairy, beans, legumes, and nuts. Besides, there are some kinds of grains and other starch-containing foods are naturally gluten-free: rice, cassava, corn (maize), soy, potato, tapioca, beans, sorghum, quinoa, millet, buckwheat groats (also known as kasha), arrowroot, amaranth, teff, flax, chia, yucca, gluten-free oats, and nut flours.

 

As a top online B2B platform for food additives, you can find premium suppliers of Sodium Benzoate and other gluten free food ingredients on OKFoodAdd. Our editors are working hard to offer professional advices on food ingredients, please kindly share this article if it is useful to you.