Home> Products> Sodium Carboxymethyl Cellulose(CMC)> Is Sodium Carboxymethyl Cellulose Gluten Free

Is Sodium Carboxymethyl Cellulose Gluten Free

03/04/2016 admin

Carboxymethyl cellulose (CMC) or cellulose gum is a cellulose derivative with carboxymethyl groups bound to some of the hydroxyl groups of the glucopyranose monomers that make up the cellulose backbone. It is often used as its sodium salt, sodium carboxymethyl cellulose. It is synthesized by the alkali-catalyzed reaction of cellulose with chloroacetic acid. The polar (organic acid) carboxyl groups render the cellulose soluble and chemically reactive.

 

What Is Gluten

Gluten is a protein composite found in wheat and related grains, including barley, rye, and wheat. Gluten gives elasticity to dough, helping it rise and keep its shape and often gives the final product a chewy texture. Gluten can be found in many types of foods, even ones that would not be expected.

 

Is Sodium Carboxymethyl Cellulose Gluten Free?

Yes, Sodium Carboxymethyl Cellulose is gluten free. It is a cellulose derivative which is different from protein. Therefore, Sodium Carboxymethyl Cellulose is gluten free.

 

How Is Sodium Carboxymethyl Cellulose Used in Gluten Free Food?

CMC is used in food under the E number E466 as a viscosity modifier or thickener, and to stabilize emulsions in various products including ice cream. CMC powder is widely used in the ice cream industry. CMC is also used as an emulsifier in producing high quality biscuits. Use of CMC in candy preparation ensures smooth dispersion in flavour oils, improves texture & quality. They are used in chewing gums, margarines and peanut butter as emulsifier.

 

Why Choose Gluten Free Food?

For those who are suffering by celiac disease, gluten can cause big trouble, not even in small amounts. 50 milligrams of the protein is enough to cause trouble. In people with celiac disease, gluten in the bloodstream triggers an immune response that damages the lining of the small intestine. This will interfere with the absorption of nutrients from food, cause problems like osteoporosis, infertility, nerve damage, and seizures.

Even those who are not with celiac disease may have a similar trouble which is called gluten sensitivity or non-celiac gluten sensitivity. It can generate symptoms similar to celiac disease but without the intestinal damage.

 

Which Foods Are Naturally Gluten Free?

There are some naturally gluten-free food groups, including fruits, vegetables, meat and poultry, fish and seafood, dairy, beans, legumes, and nuts. Besides, there are some kinds of grains and other starch-containing foods are naturally gluten-free: rice, cassava, corn (maize), soy, potato, tapioca, beans, sorghum, quinoa, millet, buckwheat groats (also known as kasha), arrowroot, amaranth, teff, flax, chia, yucca, gluten-free oats, and nut flours.

 

As a top online B2B platform for food additives, you can find premium suppliers of Sodium Carboxymethyl Cellulose and other gluten free food ingredients on OKFoodAdd. Our editors are working hard to offer professional advices on food ingredients, please kindly share this article if it is useful to you.