Home> Products> Sodium Diacetate> Is Sodium diacetate Gluten Free

Is Sodium diacetate Gluten Free

03/04/2016 admin

Sodium diacetate is a salt of acetic acid. It is a colorless solid that is used in seasonings and as an antimicrobial agent. Sodium diacetate is a fungicide and a bactericide registered to control mold and bacteria in foods. Sodium diacetate is a mixture of sodium acetate and acetic acid. It is a white, hygroscopic, crystalline solid having an odor of acetic acid (commonly known as vinegar).

 

What Is Gluten

Gluten is a protein composite found in wheat and related grains, including barley, rye, and wheat. Gluten gives elasticity to dough, helping it rise and keep its shape and often gives the final product a chewy texture. Gluten can be found in many types of foods, even ones that would not be expected.

 

Is Sodium Diacetate Gluten Free?

Yes, Sodium Diacetate is gluten free. It is a salt of acetic acid which is different from protein. Therefore, Sodium Diacetate is gluten free.

 

How Is Sodium Diacetate Used in Gluten Free Food?

Sodium diacetate, E262(ii) is a free flowing, acidic sodium salt widely used as food flavoring, preservative, and pH buffer. It consists of acetic acid and sodium acetate, and has the chemical formula symbol NaH. As a food flavoring agent, this compound is most often used to impart a vinegar flavor in snacks, breads, and soups. As a preservative, it can effective in preventing the development of several mold strains and is also used as an antibacterial agent to prolong the shelf life of many food types. Recent studies also suggest that it is an effective microbial inhibitor and pH regulator in meat and poultry products.

 

Why Choose Gluten Free Food?

For those who are suffering by celiac disease, gluten can cause big trouble, not even in small amounts. 50 milligrams of the protein is enough to cause trouble. In people with celiac disease, gluten in the bloodstream triggers an immune response that damages the lining of the small intestine. This will interfere with the absorption of nutrients from food, cause problems like osteoporosis, infertility, nerve damage, and seizures.

Even those who are not with celiac disease may have a similar trouble which is called gluten sensitivity or non-celiac gluten sensitivity. It can generate symptoms similar to celiac disease but without the intestinal damage.

 

Which Foods Are Naturally Gluten Free?

There are some naturally gluten-free food groups, including fruits, vegetables, meat and poultry, fish and seafood, dairy, beans, legumes, and nuts. Besides, there are some kinds of grains and other starch-containing foods are naturally gluten-free: rice, cassava, corn (maize), soy, potato, tapioca, beans, sorghum, quinoa, millet, buckwheat groats (also known as kasha), arrowroot, amaranth, teff, flax, chia, yucca, gluten-free oats, and nut flours.

 

As a top online B2B platform for food additives, you can find premium suppliers of Sodium Diacetate and other gluten free food ingredients on OKFoodAdd. Our editors are working hard to offer professional advices on food ingredients, please kindly share this article if it is useful to you.