Home> Products> Tea Polyphenols> Is Tea Polyphenols Gluten Free

Is Tea Polyphenols Gluten Free

03/08/2016 admin

The phenolic content in tea refers to the phenols and polyphenols, natural plant compounds which are found in tea. These chemical compounds affect the flavor and mouthfeel and are speculated to provide potential health benefits. Polyphenols in tea include catechins, theaflavins, tannins, and flavonoids. Polyphenols found in green tea include but are not limited to epigallocatechin gallate (EGCG), epigallocatechin, epicatechin gallate, and epicatechin; flavanols such as kaempferol, quercetin, and myricitin are also found in green tea.

 

What Is Gluten

Gluten is a protein composite found in wheat and related grains, including barley, rye, and wheat. Gluten gives elasticity to dough, helping it rise and keep its shape and often gives the final product a chewy texture. Gluten can be found in many types of foods, even ones that would not be expected.

 

Is Tea Polyphenols Gluten Free?

Yes, Tea Polyphenols is gluten free. It is a natural plant compound which is different from protein. Therefore, Tea Polyphenols is gluten free.

 

How Is Tea Polyphenols Used in Gluten Free Food?

All teas from the Camellia plant are rich in polyphenols, antioxidants that detoxify cell-damaging free radicals in the body. Tea has about eight to 10 times the polyphenols found in fruits and vegetables.

 

Why Choose Gluten Free Food?

For those who are suffering by celiac disease, gluten can cause big trouble, not even in small amounts. 50 milligrams of the protein is enough to cause trouble. In people with celiac disease, gluten in the bloodstream triggers an immune response that damages the lining of the small intestine. This will interfere with the absorption of nutrients from food, cause problems like osteoporosis, infertility, nerve damage, and seizures.

Even those who are not with celiac disease may have a similar trouble which is called gluten sensitivity or non-celiac gluten sensitivity. It can generate symptoms similar to celiac disease but without the intestinal damage.

 

Which Foods Are Naturally Gluten Free?

There are some naturally gluten-free food groups, including fruits, vegetables, meat and poultry, fish and seafood, dairy, beans, legumes, and nuts. Besides, there are some kinds of grains and other starch-containing foods are naturally gluten-free: rice, cassava, corn (maize), soy, potato, tapioca, beans, sorghum, quinoa, millet, buckwheat groats (also known as kasha), arrowroot, amaranth, teff, flax, chia, yucca, gluten-free oats, and nut flours.

 

As a top online B2B platform for food additives, you can find premium suppliers of Tea Polyphenols and other gluten free food ingredients on OKFoodAdd. Our editors are working hard to offer professional advices on food ingredients, please kindly share this article if it is useful to you.