Home> Products> Xylanase> Is Xylanase Gluten Free

Is Xylanase Gluten Free

03/09/2016 admin

Xylanase plays a major role in micro-organisms thriving on plant sources for the degradation of plant matter into usable nutrients. Xylanases are produced by fungi, bacteria, yeast, marine algae, protozoans, snails, crustaceans, insect, seeds, etc., (mammals do not produce xylanases). However, the principal commercial source of xylanases is filamentous fungi.

 

What Is Gluten

Gluten is a protein composite found in wheat and related grains, including barley, rye, and wheat. Gluten gives elasticity to dough, helping it rise and keep its shape and often gives the final product a chewy texture. Gluten can be found in many types of foods, even ones that would not be expected.

 

Is Xylanase Gluten Free?

Yes, Xylanase is gluten free. It is an enzyme which is different from protein. Therefore, Xylanase is gluten free.

 

How Is Xylanase Used in Gluten Free Food?

Xylanases are used as food additives to poultry, in wheat flour for improving dough handling and quality of baked products, for the extraction of coffee, plant oils, and starch, in the improvement of nutritional properties of agricultural silage and grain feed, and in combination with pectinase and cellulase for clarification of fruit juices and degumming of plant fiber sources.

 

Why Choose Gluten Free Food?

For those who are suffering by celiac disease, gluten can cause big trouble, not even in small amounts. 50 milligrams of the protein is enough to cause trouble. In people with celiac disease, gluten in the bloodstream triggers an immune response that damages the lining of the small intestine. This will interfere with the absorption of nutrients from food, cause problems like osteoporosis, infertility, nerve damage, and seizures.

Even those who are not with celiac disease may have a similar trouble which is called gluten sensitivity or non-celiac gluten sensitivity. It can generate symptoms similar to celiac disease but without the intestinal damage.

 

Which Foods Are Naturally Gluten Free?

There are some naturally gluten-free food groups, including fruits, vegetables, meat and poultry, fish and seafood, dairy, beans, legumes, and nuts. Besides, there are some kinds of grains and other starch-containing foods are naturally gluten-free: rice, cassava, corn (maize), soy, potato, tapioca, beans, sorghum, quinoa, millet, buckwheat groats (also known as kasha), arrowroot, amaranth, teff, flax, chia, yucca, gluten-free oats, and nut flours.

 

As a top online B2B platform for food additives, you can find premium suppliers of Xylanase and other gluten free food ingredients on OKFoodAdd. Our editors are working hard to offer professional advices on food ingredients, please kindly share this article if it is useful to you.