Home> Products> Gluconic Acid> Is Gluconic Acid Gluten Free

Is Gluconic Acid Gluten Free

03/17/2016 admin

Citric acid, also known as E330, is one of the most widely used acids in the flavoring industry. It is an organic acid found in fruit, vegetables and household products. It is commercially as a preservative, used to add an acidic or sour taste to foods and drinks. Citric acid is a compound found in every living organism, as it is part of the key metabolic pathways in all body cells. Large concentrations are found in citrus fruits, kiwi, strawberries and many other fruits. It is commercially prepared by fermentation of molasses with the mould Aspergillus niger. First isolated in 1784 from lemon juice, by the Swedish chemist Carl Wilhelm Scheele, citric acid has been used as a food additive for over 100 years.

 

What Is Gluten

Gluten is a protein composite found in wheat and related grains, including barley, rye, and wheat. Gluten gives elasticity to dough, helping it rise and keeps its shape and often gives the final product a chewy texture. Gluten can be found in many types of foods, even ones that would not be expected.

 

Is Citric Acid Gluten Free?

Yes, citric acid is gluten free. It is an inorganic compound which is different from protein. Citric acid is made from fruits. Therefore, citric acid is gluten free.

 

How Is Citric Acid Used in Gluten Free Food?

Citric acid has many functions – it enhances the activity of many antioxidants, but is no antioxidant by itself. It is mainly used as an acidity regulator as well as aroma compound.

 

Why Choose Gluten Free Food?

For those who are suffering by celiac disease, gluten can cause big trouble, not even in small amounts. 50 milligrams of the protein is enough to cause trouble. In people with celiac disease, gluten in the bloodstream triggers an immune response that damages the lining of the small intestine. This will interfere with the absorption of nutrients from food, cause problems like osteoporosis, infertility, nerve damage, and seizures.

Even those who are not with celiac disease may have a similar trouble which is called gluten sensitivity or non-celiac gluten sensitivity. It can generate symptoms similar to celiac disease but without the intestinal damage.

 

Which Foods Are Naturally Gluten Free?

There are some naturally gluten-free food groups, including fruits, vegetables, meat and poultry, fish and seafood, dairy, beans, legumes, and nuts. Besides, there are some kinds of grains and other starch-containing foods are naturally gluten-free: rice, cassava, corn (maize), soy, potato, tapioca, beans, sorghum, quinoa, millet, buckwheat groats (also known as kasha), arrowroot, amaranth, teff, flax, chia, yucca, gluten-free oats, and nut flours.

 

As a top online B2B platform for food additives, you can find premium suppliers of citric acid and other gluten free food ingredients on OKFoodAdd. Our editors are working hard to offer professional advices on food ingredients, please kindly share this article if it is useful to you.